|E-mail this page to a friend
|Tell me when this page is updated
May 17, 1884 by John Taylor
Rededication (remodeling): March 13, 1979 by Spencer W. Kimball
Location: 175 North 300 East; Logan, Utah (on the eastern bench overlooking Cache Valley)
Site: 9 acres selected by Brigham Young.
Exterior Finish: Dark-colored, siliceous limestone -- an extremely hard stone and compact in texture. Buff colored limestone was used wherever detailed shaping was necessary.
Temple Design: Castellated style.
Number of Rooms: Four ordinance rooms and eleven sealing.
Total Floor Area: 115,507 square feet.
Current Temple Schedule: Logan Temple Schedule
Prayer Excerpt: "We especially, this day, thank Thee for this
building which we now dedicate to Thee and Thy people and Thy service,
and we are pleased that this glorious building has been in operation for
near a hundred years to satisfy the needs of Thy people. We are grateful
that Thy early saints did establish these monuments in the valleys of the
mountains, as foretold by the prophets, and now other beautiful edifices
are being planned and marked for many nations and many peoples therein.
We are grateful to Thee, Holy Father, that we have been able to see this
day when expanding numbers may receive their anointings and blessings in
holy temples within reasonable distances of their homes."
Comments: In 1863, President Brigham Young and several other General Authorities visited Cache Valley. During the visit on August 22, Elder Wilford Woodruff was preaching at the bowery in Logan when he felt impressed to direct his comments to the youth. He said, "You will have the privelege of going into the tower of a glorious temple built unto the name of the most high God, east of us upon the Logan Bench." President Young then testified that Elder Woodruff's words were revelation. About 14 years later, ground was broken for what is now the second oldest functioning temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The Logan Temple was built completely by volunteer labor. Just after the ground breaking, President Young spoke words of encouragement by saying that the temple could be built "without any burden to ourselves if our hearts are in the work, and we will be blessed abundantly in doing so. We will be better off in our temporal affairs when it is completed than when we commenced." Energy and excitement were high, and construction on the temple began almost immediately. Sacrifices were made by many to help quicken the pace of the temple's erection. Since the supply of commercially produced carpeting was not sufficient in the Utah Territory, the sisters in that district were asked to perform the overwhelming task of producing the needed floor coverings just two months before the planned dedication. They worked tirelessly collecting rags and stitching them together. By the time ordinance work began, these ladies had produced over two thousand square yards of finely woven rag carpeting. Its design follows the pattern of the Manti and Salt Lake Temples -- a large assembly hall in the top floor and towers on each end. It is in the great assembly hall where the dedication took place. Speaking at the dedication, Elder Wilford Woodruff testified that "the spirits of Elias, Elijah and other holy men of old are hovering over us and are ready to aid us in any way that is possible." He stated that Joseph Smith, Brigham Young, and the Savior were especially interested in the dedication of the temple and that "if the veil were taken from our eyes we would behold their faces. . . . God and the heavens are with us today and the Lord is pleased with our labors." Not too many years after the dedication, fire broke out in the Logan temple after it had closed on the night of December 4, 1917. The cause was faulty electrical wiring, and the resulting flames quickly engulfed the southeast stairway. Many things were destroyed including art windows and paintings. Extensive smoke and water damage was plainly evident in adjacent parts of the building. Fourty thousand dollars were spent to rebuild the stairway and make other necessary repairs so that the temple could reopen within three months of the accident. The Logan temple underwent two additional remodeling projects. The first was from 1949 to 1950 when the temple underwent major improvements in offices, the kitchen, laundry areas, heating, air conditioning, lighting, and the installation of elevators. In 1979 the temple's ordinance rooms were converted to the more efficient "movie" scheme which is how it stands today.
Visit the Official LDS Page
Back to Have You Ever Wondered
Write me with questions about the LDS Church
or comments about this page.
copyright Ken Jackson